Improving Patient Care Through Technology

Board of Directors

Bert Valada

President and CEO

Bert Valada brings more than 30 years of experience in building and leading domestic and international world class healthcare organizations. After leaving multinational organizations, he has focused on the business development and transitioning of innovative healthcare companies in bringing new technologies and solutions to improve patient outcomes to market. Mr. Valada has supported the development and rollout of the VCM product line over the last seven years, taking a once highly complex and extremely valuable laboratory test and making it available at point of care worldwide.

Christopher Rumana, M.D.

Chairman of the Board

Dr. Rumana received his undergraduate and medical degrees from Northwestern University. He received his training in neurological surgery at Baylor College of Medicine, in Houston, Texas. In 1998 he completed his residency in neurological surgery and began his medical practice in Tallahassee, FL.  He ultimately served for many years as President of Tallahassee Neurological Clinic, Chairman of the Division of Neurological Surgery at Tallahassee Memorial Hospital, and President and Chairman of Caduceus LLC. Additionally, he served as the Chief of the Medical Staff for Tallahassee Memorial Hospital and for many years served as a member of the Board of Directors in Tallahassee Memorial Hospital, ultimately culminating as Chairman of the Board. In 2018 he stopped his active medical practice and moved into a business advisory role, currently he serves as Chairman of the Board of Directors of two international medical companies and is either a fiduciary or advisory board member of several additional healthcare companies.

W. Brian Gibler, MD

Board Member

Dr. Gibler has over 30 years of professional healthcare experience in research, administration and clinical practice. Previously he was the President and CEO of University of Cincinnati Medical Center and prior to that he was the Chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine.   His is currently Professor of Emergency Medicine at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine and a Fellow both in the American College of Emergency Physicians and the American College of Cardiology. He earned his undergraduate from Brown and graduated from Vanderbilt University Medical School.

James True Martin, MD, CIME, FAADEP

Board Member

Dr. Martin is a neurologist in private practice at the Tallahassee Neurology Clinic, in Tallahassee, Florida. He has held a faculty appointment as clinical associate professor at Florida State University since 1983 and serves as an advisor for the Florida bar. He has eight years of research training and was the first student from Florida State University to be accepted to Vanderbilt Medical School based on academic achievements while waiving requirements for undergraduate graduation, and the university established a prestigious annual student award in his name. In addition to his numerous publications, he serves on several editorial advisory boards, is active in many professional organizations and retains several hospital affiliations in the Tallahassee area.

Pierre Noel, MD

Board Member

Dr. Noel is a Professor of Medicine at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and serves as the Director of the Blood and Marrow Transplant Program in the Division of Hematology at Mayo. He joined Mayo in 1988 and left in 2000 to serve as the Chief of Hematology and a Senior Clinician for the National Institute of Health Clinical Center in Bethesda and a Consultant for the White House Homeland and National Security Council in Washington, DC. Dr. Noel served in the military from 1997 through 2010. He rejoined Mayo in 2010.

Ron Sacher, M.D.

Board Member

Dr. Sacher is the Director Emeritus of Hoxworth Blood Center and Emeritus Professor of Internal Medicine with the University of Cincinnati Academic Health Center.  He also served as the Christian R. Holmes Professor and Interim Dean of the College of Medicine.  Dr. Sacher previously served as Chairman of the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Director of Transfusion Medicine at Georgetown University Hospital and Professor of Medicine, Oncology and Pathology in the Hematology/Oncology division of the Department of Medicine.  Dr. Sacher received his undergraduate and medical degrees from Witwatersrand University in Johannesburg, South Africa and completed his residency in Canada and a Fellowship in Hematology at Georgetown University Medical Center.